CFP: Social and Intellectual Transformations at the end of 20th Century

Faculty of Political Science and Diplomacy, Vytautas Magnus University, May 12-13, 2011.

The last decade of the 20th century was marked by fundamental transformations towards democratization and liberalization in Central and Eastern Europe. Young researchers, including post-graduate and graduate students, may have different attitudes towards the social, political, economic and cultural transformations than their senior colleagues who were either participants or observers of those events. Due to the less emotional attachment, the young generation is able to provide a more precise identification of the ongoing social tensions and collisions that started at the end of the 20th century.

The aim of the conference is to encourage young researchers (graduate and post-graduate students) to re-evaluate political, economic, social and cultural changes in Central and Eastern Europe at the end of the 20th century and share their approach with senior colleagues. Conference organizers welcome original insights about the period which was crucial in setting up the principles of today’s democratic society.

The conference addresses the following topics:

  • Transition from the planned to market economy: drama and tensions;
  • The concept of citizenship after 1990: between passion and irony;
  • Old and new collectivism: community crisis passed or obtained?
  • Nationalism: game, instrument, power or inertia?
  • Democratization of public sphere: between engagement and anomie;
  • New challenges for art and artists: diversity articulation and fear of management;
  • Development of environmental consciousness and risk construction.

Deadline for sending an abstract (up to 300 words) is April 20. Please send your abstract and a list of hardware needed for the paper presentation by email to Amount of time allocated to one paper is 15 minutes.

After the conference, selected papers will be published in the peer-reviewed publication. For further questions, please contact

Committee Chair: Dr. Jurga Jonutytė.

Committee: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kristina Juraitė, PhDc Laima Venclauskienė, PhDc Marius Gurskas, Mindaugas Jančis.

This entry was posted in Conferences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.